A Tribute to Beethoven

Concerto Cristofori recaptures the exquisite sounds and passionate musical manners of the colourful era after Cristofori’s revolutionary invention of the fortepiano, when the keyboard was transformed from an integrated ensemble instrument into a dominant solo voice. The group celebrates the master with a programme featuring some of his finest and best-loved chamber music.


Grande Sonata pathétique in C minor Op.13

Violin Sonata in D Op.12 No.1

Seven cello Variations in E flat major on Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen (Die Zauberflöte) WoO.46

Piano Trio in C minor Op.1 No.3

“A revelatory reading of Beethoven’s Grande Sonata pathétique inspired a performance flamboyant, full-toned and thrilling in its realisation.”

Harpsichord and Fortepiano Magazine

“An impressive debut for a welcome new group. [The violinist] retained a well-mannered sense of blend with his partner musicians, never dominating the show…Sharona Joshua combined a delicacy of touch and eloquence of expression with an impressive technique….”

Early Music Review