Recital Fortepiano recital at the Yatton Music Society, Saturday 28 January 2006

by Sharona on December 12, 2005



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Adagio in B minor K540

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sonata in D major K576

Franz Joseph Haydn
Sonata No 62 in E flat major Hob XVI/52

Ludwig van Beethoven
Sonata Pathétique in C minor Op 13

Ludwig van Beethoven
Variations in D major on ‘Rule Britannia’ WoO79

Little has been said about late 19th century recordings and their relevance to the musical scene nowadays. Sharona Joshua treats this material as a window into performance practice traditions prevalent for generations before. By doing so, she revives this extremely volatile, subtle, natural and expressive style, and introduces it back into music for audiences today.

“Sharona’s playing demonstrated that in the hands of an excellent musician the fortepiano’s qualities can enhance the work of the greatest composers.”
Musical Opinion

“A revelatory reading of Beethoven’s Grande Sonata pathétique inspired a performance flamboyant, full-toned and thrilling in its realisation.”
Harpsichord and fortepiano

For further details go to the Yatton Music Society website

Previous post:

Next post: