Fortepiano recital at the Purcell Room, 11 Dec 04, 7.30pm

by Sharona on November 24, 2004

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1792)
Adagio in B minor K.540 (March 1788)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sonata in A major K.576 (July 1789)

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Sonata No. 62 in E flat Major Hob. XVI/52 (1794)
Finale (Presto)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata in F minor Op. 2 No. 1 (1795)
Menuetto (Allegretto) – Trio

Ludwig van Beethoven
Five Variations in D major on ‘Rule Britannia’ from Alfred (Thomas Arne) WoO 79 (1803)
Thema – Tempo moderato
Variations I-V

Little has been said about late 19th century recordings and their relevance to the musical scene nowadays. Sharona Joshua treats this material as a window into performance practice traditions prevalent for generations before. By doing so, she revives this extremely volatile, subtle, natural and expressive style, and introduces it back into music for audiences today.

£13 Concs £2 off

“Sharona’s playing demonstrated that in the hands of an excellent musician the fortepiano’s qualities can enhance the work of the greatest composers.” Musical Opinion

Download a copy of the official flyer . Note: file is approximately 1MB, and requires Adobe Acrobat to read.

Previous post:

Next post: